Tags

, , ,

There it was
beneath me
in water so clear
I felt I could touch it
if I reached out my hand

Rocks
sand
sea fans waving
saying hello in the currents
that flowed around them

Brain coral
like great corduroy balls
surrounded by long undulating leaves
that came complete with small fishes

Cracks in the rocks
filled
with small spiky creatures
sea urchins
small frondy creatures
anemones
and sometimes
creatures I only saw parts of
small tentacles

Sand patches between
strewn with stars
but instead of the glittering kind
solid
alive
with suckers underneath
starfish

Kites in the water
gliding
sailing
flat and dark from above
skates

All in silence
like a silent movie
seen only from above
like a picture show
for my eyes only
as I leaned over the side of the boat
on a bluegreen sea

